PRIVILEGED COMMUNICATIONS WITH VICTIM ADVOCATES MANDATE

The Utah Office for Victims of Crime requires all non-profit and government organizations receiving grant funding who provide direct services to crime victims to certify their compliance with the Privileged Communications with Victim Advocates Act.

All subgrantee staff and volunteers who are considered "<u>Criminal justice system victim advocates</u>" (in accordance with <u>Utah Code 77-38-403 (4)</u>) must complete 40 hours of trauma-informed training in crisis response, the effects of crime and trauma on victims, victim advocacy services and ethics, informed consent, and privileged confidential communication in accordance with <u>Utah Code 77-38-401-405</u>. Training must be approved or provided by the Utah Office for Victims of Crime.

All subgrantee staff and volunteers who are considered "Non government organization victim advocates" (in accordance with Utah Code 77-38-403 (4)) must complete 40 hours of trauma-informed training in assisting victims specific to the specialization or focus of the non government organization advocacy services provider and privileged confidential communication in accordance with Utah Code 77-38-401-405. Training must be either approved/provided by the Utah Office for Victims of Crime or meet other minimally equivalent standards set forth by the non government advocacy victim services provider.

Privileged Communications with Victim Advocates Act Utah State Code of Criminal Procedure Section 77 38 401-405