There are a number of Utah laws, rules, policies, and contracts that address victim advocate
training including but not exclusive: HBS53, rule 512, HB 177, Utah Code, Confidential
Communications for Sexual Assault Act, Confidential Communications for Institutional
Advocacy Services Act. VOCA/VAWA/SASP, and DHHS. Please review to ensure you are
getting the training that is required for your place of employment.

Utah Victim Assistance Academy (UVAA)

Hosted by: Utah Office for Victims of Crime

This forty-hour training qualifies participants to provide direct services to all crime victims in
Utah. The curriculum follows standards set by the Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) and covers
a wide range of topics including 16 hours of foundational training and 24 hours of crime specific
training. It is also an approved training for the National Advocate Credentialing Program®
(NACP)

UVAA is provided three times a year. January, May, October. There is no fee or registration.
Since this training focuses on all crime categories it is best suited for system based advocates or
community based services that serve all victims of crime.

Core Advocacy Training (CAT)

Hosted by: Utah Domestic Violence Coalition (UDVC)

Our 40-hour Core Advocacy Training (CAT) covers a wide range of core topics specific to
domestic/intimate partner violence and sexual assault. CAT content has been developed, and is
delivered, by a range of subject matter experts and highly experienced advocates. Participant
members include advocates in need of basic domestic/intimate partner violence training and/or
professionals whose work involves supporting survivors. We offer two options for completing
the CAT course: our livestream/in-person training (offered quarterly and taking place over a

2-week period) and our self-paced, online learning training. There is no fee or registration.
Since this training focuses on domestic violence it is best suited for system based advocates or
community based advocates that focus on providing services to domestic violence victims.

Utah Coalition for Sexual Assault (UCASA):

Hosted by: Utah Coalition Against Sexual Assault

VOCA/VAWA/SASP Certified Assurances requires all non-profit organizations (501(c)3)
receiving grant funding who provide rape crisis services to complete 40 hours of

training in assisting victims of sexual assault. Training to certify as a Rape Crisis Counselor must
be provided by a Utah Rape Crisis Program or a State Sexual Assault Coalition.

We provide state-mandated 40-hour training for advocates that are entering the field as well as
community members that would like to learn more. We provide various topics including the 16
core hours that the rest can be taken with UVAA and UDVC. We have 6 trainings a year


https://le.utah.gov/~2019/bills/static/hb0053.html
https://casesearch.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ure&rule=512
https://le.utah.gov/~2018/bills/static/HB0177.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title77/Chapter38/77-38-S405.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title77/Chapter38/C77-38-P2_1800010118000101.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title77/Chapter38/C77-38-P2_1800010118000101.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53B/Chapter28/53B-28-S201.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53B/Chapter28/53B-28-S201.html
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17BRiac2Viz4KV_n0QvR-mKcGZTo0N45x/view
https://udvc.org/training-requirements/
https://crimevictim.utah.gov/
https://udvc.org/
https://www.ucasa.org/

including 2 that are in Spanish. About half of our training is in the mornings and the other in the
afternoons. The training is virtual through Zoom. This training is free and designed specifically
for advocates and volunteers at rape crisis centers. The training will instill critical foundational
concepts for advocates to begin working with survivors of sexual violence.

Utah Children's Justice Centers:

The Utah Children's Justice Center Program supports local Children's Justice Centers in seeking
and maintaining accreditation from the National Children's Alliance (NCA). Accredited
membership in NCA requires that programs meet ten standards. One standard is victim support

and advocacy. All CJC staff and allied agency professionals who provide victim advocacy
services to CJC clients are required to have initial, specialized training that includes a minimum
of 24 hours including: dynamics of child abuse, trauma-informed services, crisis assessment and
intervention, risk assessment and safety planning, professional ethics and boundaries,
understanding the coordinated multidisciplinary response, victim’s legal rights, court education,
knowledge of community resources, cultural responsiveness, caregiver resilience, and family
violence.CJC victim advocates must also complete an additional 16 hours of training to meet the
State of Utah requirement. This online training is free, self-paced and can be accessed through
the CJC Program. Individuals who provide victim advocacy for CJCs must participate in
ongoing education in child maltreatment consisting of a minimum of 8 hours every two years.

UDVC, UOVC, and UCASA meet regularly to review and ensure that our respective trainings
are up to date and meet the regulations set forth in law. All trainings must include the following

Foundational Topics

role of a victim advocate and the history of victim services;
trauma-informed advocacy/coordination;

ethics;

informed consent/confidential communications;

crime victim’s compensation;

trauma;

crisis intervention/response; and

victim rights.
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Draft Training Policy HB53
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ZCLtpWI
Z97MHt-TuigDpjnf _jg3A gX/edit#



https://utahcjc.org/
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ZCLtpWIZ97MHt-TuigDpjnf__jg3A_qX/edit#
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ZCLtpWIZ97MHt-TuigDpjnf__jg3A_qX/edit#

