THE COMPLAINT PROCESS

Complaints must be submitted in writing and delivered to the Office of
Crime Victim Reparations. Office of Crime Victim Reparations will
acknowledge receipt of the complaint within 5 working days and com-
plaint will be forwarded to the appropriate District Victims’ Rights
Committee Chair.
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District Victims’ Rights Committee will respond to the complainant
within 60 days of receipt of the complaint. If a hearing before the
Committee is deemed appropriate, it will be held within 90 days. Time
limits may be adjusted for extenuating circumstances.
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If the District Victims’ Rights Committee is unable to resolve the
complaint within the prescribed time, a designated subcommittee from
the Utah Council on Victims will review the
complaint.

( The Complaint Hearing)

* The District Victim’s Rights Committee may hold public hearings
* Quorum consisting of 1/2 of District Victims’ Rights
Committee membership shall be present to hear Complaint
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*Individual may testify in writing, appear in person, or be represented
by another individual at complaint hearing
*Individual or agency named in the complaint may respond in writing,
appear in person, or be represented by another
individual
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If deemed appropriate by committee, parties will be allowed to respond
to the testimony. Time limits shall be set for rebuttals before hearing
begins. Parties will be excused before committee discussion.
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If person or agency fails to respond, or if issue cannot be resolved at
the District Victims’ Rights Committee hearing, the matter shall be
referred to the Utah Council on Victims of Crime.

( Possible Complaint Resolutions)

*Complaint referred to appropriate agency

*Request that agency resolve problem by adhering to victims' rights
statutes

*Use any method allowed by law to ensure that recommendations are
implemented

*Decide to take no action due to lack of merit or authority

*Refer to Utah Crime Victims’ Legal Clinic

VIicTIMS’ RIGHTS

In recent years the Utah Legislature has passed a
number of provisions in a continuing attempt to
afford victims the rights they deserve. In 1994,
numerous groups and citizens rallied together to
support and pass a Victims’ Rights Amendment to
the state constitution. These efforts have
contributed to the end result we are all striving to
reach, “balancing the scales of justice.”

The following are included among those rights:

Victims have the right “to be treated with fairness,
respect, and dignity, and to be free from harassment
and abuse throughout the criminal justice process.”

Victims have the right, upon request, to be informed
of, be present at, and to be heard at important
criminal justice hearings related to the victim, either
in person or through a designated representative.

Victims have a right of privacy and should not be
forced to disclose their address, telephone number,
place of employment, or other locating information,
without compelling reason.

Victims have the right to reparations and restitution
when appropriate.

Victims have the right to reasonable employer
intercession services to minimize loss of pay and
benefits.

Victims have the right to be informed as to the level
of protection available to protect them from
intimidation and harm.

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, anyone needing
special assistance with the complaint process or the completion of this
complaint form, including auxiliary or communicative aids and services,
should contact Christine Watters at the Office of Crime Victim
Reparations for assistance. In order to facilitate the request for
assistance, a notice of three working days is required.
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Victims/Witnesses of crime who believe that
their rights have been violated should

complete the complaint form inside of this
brochure.

CRIME
VICTIM/WITNESS
COMPLAINTS

Utah Council on Victims of Crime

For Further
Information

Call

1-801-238-2360
Toll-Free
1-800-621-7444



VICTIM/WITNESS COMPLAINT FORM

If you are the victim of a crime and have a complaint about the Criminal Justice System (i.e. law enforcement, prosecution, courts,
Corrections, Board of Pardons), please complete the following information and send to the Office of Crime Victim Reparations.
Type or print legibly. Use additional sheets if necessary. Answer as many questions as you are able.

VICTIM/WITNESS INFORMATION  Please indicate preferred form of contact:

Victim/Witness Name Birth Date Sex (M/F) E-mail Address

Complete Address (No., Street, City, County, State, Zip Code)

Telephone (home) (work) May we leave a message?

If under 18 years of age, indicate the name of your parent or guardian:

CRIME INFORMATION (IF AVAILABLE)

Date Crime or Incident Occurred: Type of Crime:

Location of Crime: City: County:

Did you report the crime to law enforcement? Law Enforcement Agency:

Name of assailant or perpetrator and accomplices (if known):

Has an arrest been made? Police Report/Case # (If available):

List all agencies with which you have interacted:

Has the offender been charged in court? Name of Judge: Name of Court:

Prosecuting Agency:

Sentencing Date: Sentence:

Victim/Witness Right Violated:

Please list all agencies and/or individuals who are a subject of this complaint:

What outcome is desired as a result of this complaint?

STATEMENT OF COMPLAINT (Please include names of professional contacts made in relationship to the incident)

Date:

Complainant Signature:




